Trump, Fake News and Great Books

I don’t know what to believe anymore. In reality, how could anyone know what to believe?Fake news,  conspiracies,  partnerships that do or don’t exist. It’s getting harder and harder to figure out. I’ve been watching some news this week, ever since the incidents in Syria made the headlines, but to be brutally honest, I have a hard time believing anything I see anymore, so as a rule, ‘the news’ is not on my to-do list.

How does one objectively figure out what’s going on over there anyway? The more I watch, the less I know. First, we were told that Assad was responsible for the chemical attack on his own people. Since then, I’ve heard that it also could’ve been the rebels who are fighting against him, ISIS or perhaps even Russia. I have no way of verifying any of this, who can? We’re all at the mercy of the news outlets,  who are owned by corporations, who could have any number of stakes or interests in this.

Then there’s President Corn-head. Mr. “Travel ban on Muslims, No Syrian Refugees for me.” How are we to take him seriously? Muslims were leaving such a bad taste in his mouth that he had no problem venting about them in public. Now he’s suddenly concerned and distraught over the gas attack in Muslim Syria, so he unloads a slew of missiles on Assad’s regime.  This puts him on bad ground with the Russians, but hey, wait a minute? Weren’t he and his cronies being investigated for their links to Russia? What a way to deflect that investigation.

I’ve always been fascinated by men like Dick Proenneke. I don’t know if any of you recall Mr. Proenneke, he’s the guy who sort of gave up on modern society and went to live in a cabin in Alaska in isolation and seclusion.  With the world becoming more confusing by the second, suddenly a life with no internet, television, radio and most importantly, politicians, is starting to sound pretty good.

Dick didn’t totally become a recluse. He opened his doors to visitors, he enjoyed writing, filming and reading good books. Really my kind of guy. I guess if the world is bringing you down, there’s nothing like a good read to put your mind in a nice place.  So here’s a couple of links for mine.  Please take a look, if you keep reading, I’ll keep writing. And what can you buy these days for 99 cents? Not even a cup of coffee, but maybe a conspiracy theory…

This entry was posted in funny, novels, politics, syria, trump, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

