Would you like fries with that?

I’m a tad lazy when it comes to certain things. Well, maybe a lot of things. Instead of making myself something to eat, today I found myself in a drive through not once, but twice. But it’s not just me. Each time I went the line was full. It makes me wonder, what would we do if something we take for granted, like fast food, suddenly wasn’t available. Would we all starve?

In a way it kind of reminds me of the old fable about the grasshopper and the ant, except we haven’t all become grasshoppers. The truth is, we’ve become ants that are working too much for others and not enough for ourselves. In a few short years we’ve gone from being almost totally self sufficient to almost totally dependant on stores and restaurants. Not long ago everyone had a large garden and stored away produce to last them until the next summer. And those who had the facilities kept livestock to fill the freezer with meat. Who can do that nowadays? Almost nobody.

This shift in habits and lifestyle has cost us a lot. The average family spends a larger percentage of their income on food than any other generation in history. And it’s not only a monetary cost. It’s been harmful to our health as well. Processed foods, meats and junk foods are bad for us, no doubt causing cancers, heart disease and a whole host of other problems. But for most of us, it’s almost impossible to go back to the old ways. What’s a person to do?

In a perfect world I’d be a full time writer, raising a few animals and gardening in my spare time. Or I’d be a powerful CEO of some new international company and not be worried about this stuff. But the chances of that happening are slim to none. Most likely I’ll have to keep trucking. And working 70+ hrs per week doesn’t give me much time to get back to nature. For once, I don’t really have an answer. If somebody does I’d really like to hear it. Until then, I guess I’ll be having another double double and an apple fritter…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

