Fracking and explosions!

Right now I’m imagining
something crazy.  I’m imagining that I’m turning on my tap, then the
toaster and my whole kitchen explodes.  Sound impossible?  A study
from Duke University in North Carolina found that people living less
than a kilometer from gas wells had up to 17 times higher
concentrations of methane in their drinking water.  The report also
said in some cases there was enough methane to be considered an
explosion hazard.

So I’m thinking about  my
usual morning.  I stumble into the kitchen half asleep.  I go to make
some toast and a pitcher of juice and the next thing I know I’m on
the front lawn, my house is destroyed and the toast is burnt.
Southwestern Energy, the mining company that wants to frak here claims to have a brilliant track record when it comes to safety and the environment.  On that note I can’t imagine why they’re facing lawsuits in both Arkansas and Pennsylvania by citizens that claim they polluted their water.

Other parts of North America
have banned the practice of hydro fracking, but it’s going to happen
here. The Alward government sees nothing but dollar signs.  And I suppose with the expense accounts that they have, buying bottled water isn’t a problem for them.  I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again.  Whoever decided that New Brunswickers have no right to what’s
below their propery should’ve been run out of the province on a rail
and horsewhipped.

We have to keep protesting,
keep fighting.  We have a beautiful province.  It’s not perfect, but
if fracking is allowed to happen I can guarantee you it’s going to
get a lot worse.  One thing I have always appreciated about country living is the fact that water from my tap tastes great.  I don’t even like city water that’s chlorinated and I don’t want to find out what fracking fluid tastes like.  Never mind the fact that I may have towear a flak jacket and helmet just to make some toast.  It’s just not
worth it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fracking and explosions!

  1. Paul says:

    Well said! We can’t sit back quietly and watch this happen!

  2. james says:

    you said it man!

  3. Nancy says:

    Lets have a moritorium on fracking in Kent County,just like the many provinces,around us,and American states below us…

Leave a Reply

