My old pals

A well worn tire that wishes to swing

a taught rope that wants to sway

the tree waits for them to climb and
sing

but no one comes out to play

 

No more running and laughing in the
grass

the breeze tousling their hair

I guess doll’s and toys’ time has
passed

change is everywhere

 

Where are my pals that ran to their dad

in the evening after work

telling me of fun and games they’d had

in their sundresses and skirts

 

Days turn to weeks then months and
years

everyone grows up I know

but sometimes my eyes will well with tears

where did my little pals go?

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My old pals

  1. AWWWW Jake, so sweet, i think the same thing everyday and mine are still only little….

  2. Jody says:

    Awwwwwww, that’s beautiful! I hear ya, brother!

Leave a Reply

